Manufacturing Secrets

We have been designing and manufacturing quality children's shoes since 1870; our savoir-faire has been handed down from generation to generation. From first sketches to finishing touches, a model goes through more than 200 different production steps. Some are unexpected, all are rigorous. We share here some of our passion for this exceptional craft.

Designing on the last

Designing on the last

It all starts with our expertise building the last. The initial concept of the shoe materializes in the form of three-dimensional volume, embodied by the last. This step is essential and extremely precise. The width of the foot, the volume of the instep and the degree of forefoot lift are all characteristics to take into account, to the last millimeter! Next, a plastic shell is molded onto the last to allow the patternmaker to design the upper.

From the sketch provided by the design office, the patternmaker reproduces the upper on the last using a fine graphite pencil. Years of experience are necessary to acquire the precision that drawing on a last requires. The final shoe will be identical to the resulting design in every detail.

The Pattern

Next, a transparent adhesive cloth is applied to the last so that all the elements of the upper can be transposed onto it. It is then meticulously peeled off and applied flat to cardboard. After precise cutting out of each component, we have the pattern of the shoe.

Cutting

The resulting pattern pieces allow the cutter to cut each piece of leather that makes up the upper of the shoe. This includes the inner lining. After making the pattern for a given size, called the base, the dimensions of the pieces needed to make the adjacent sizes are obtained by incremental grading. Several closely spaced bases are essential for the production of a range of children’s sizes, as the morphology of the foot changes enormously in the first few years. Each of these bases is designed on the last and transposed onto a pattern. When the first sample is assembled, several fittings are carried out to check the shape of the model and the accuracy of the fit. This is called "tuning." The patternmaker makes any necessary changes to the base pattern.

The Pattern
Stitching and assembly

Stitching and assembly

To summarize these various steps: the concept takes shape in three dimensions on the last, on which the patternmaker draws the upper. From this drawing a pattern is made from which all the pieces of the upper are cut out. At the same time, the leather insole is also prepared. Once the other components that make up the model are added, such as the counter and toe cap (rigid pieces that are placed between the lining and the leather, at the heel and the front of the shoe respectively) or the closure elements (zipper, buckle, eyelets...), the model is ready for stitching and assembly.

Now that all the individual components that make up the shoe have been prepared, they must be assembled. The upper is the first part to be constructed. A final stage of preparation is necessary for the pieces of leather that must accommodate a particular strap or lacing.

Stitching

The pieces of leather, exterior and interior, that make up the upper are assembled in the stitching workshop. Stitching requires great dexterity and precision to guarantee a quality result. The upper is then positioned on a plastic last, ready for assembly.

Stitching
Assembly

Assembly

Assembly consists of putting together the upper and the leather lining. There are different types of assembly, each with its own particular characteristics depending on how the upper and the leather lining are put together.

(Parentheses)

Between stitching and assembly, there is a multitude of operations that we have not mentioned. Yet each of them is an essential step in the manufacturing process. For example, once the upper and the lining are assembled, all the layers of leather are dyed by hand, with a brush, using a mixture of natural dyes similar to the color of leather. This meticulous attention to detail contributes to the quality of the product.

Construction

The last step in the manufacturing process is attaching the outsole, or walking sole, to the newly formed upper/lining ensemble. In the case of traditional assembly, the outsole is attached to the upper by a gluing process. This is called welded construction. This requires a great deal of rigor and preparation beforehand to enable a perfect connection between sole and upper. Carding, for example, is an operation consisting of lightly scraping the underside of the insole before placing it in the oven to help the glue adhere.

The insole is attached to the last with adhesive strips. The upper is then fitted on the last, covering the insole. This ensemble is then heat-sealed. Once cooled, the ensemble is either sanded or carded as needed. An insulating layer of leather or cork completes this operation to fill out the bottom of the shoe. Next, the outsole and insole are glued, then set aside to rest so the solvents can dissipate. Finally, the upper and sole elements are joined and the glue is reactivated by heat pressure.

Construction
Finishing

Finishing

The shoes are then cleaned and buffed by hand according to the final look we want to give the leather. All the various treatment operations are called finishing.

Boxing

Once the finishing is done, the pair of shoes is meticulously checked for any manufacturing defects. Then it is carefully wrapped in tissue paper and boxed. This is the final step of more than 200 operations that were necessary for its manufacture.

Boxing

Secrets de Fabrication

Nous dessinons et fabriquons des chaussures pour enfants de qualité depuis 1870. Un savoir-faire transmis de génération en génération. Des premiers croquis jusqu'au finissage, un modèle nécessite plus de 200 étapes de réalisations différentes. Parfois insoupçonnées, toujours exigeantes. Nous avons voulu partager un peu de notre passion pour ce métier d’exception.

Le dessin sur forme

Le dessin sur forme

Tout commence par l'expertise de la forme. L'idée première de la chaussure doit être matérialisée sous forme de volume. Cette étape est primordiale et extrêmement précise. La largeur du chaussant, le volume du cou-de-pied et le degré de relève avant sont autant de caractéristiques à prendre en compte : au millimètre ! Ensuite, une coque plastique est moulée sur la forme pour permettre au patronnier modéliste de dessiner la tige.

À partir du croquis fourni par le bureau de style, le patronnier va reproduire la tige sur la forme à l'aide d'un crayon graphite fin. Des années d'expériences sont nécessaires pour acquérir la précision que requiert le dessin sur forme. La chaussure sera en tout point identique au résultat obtenu, dans les moindres détails.

Le patronage

Une toile adhésive est appliquée sur la forme. Elle va permettre de transposer l'ensemble des éléments de la tige par transparence. Décollée minutieusement, la toile est ensuite appliquée en aplat sur du carton. Après une découpe précise de chaque empiècement, on obtient le patron de la chaussure.

LA DECOUPE

Les éléments obtenus vont permettre au coupeur de découper chaque pièce de cuir qui compose la tige de la chaussure. Ce qui inclut les doublures intérieures. Après réalisation du patron pour une pointure donnée, appelé base, les dimensions des pièces nécessaires à la confection des pointures adjacentes sont obtenues par graduation. Plusieurs bases rapprochées sont indispensables à la réalisation d'une gamme de pointures, la morphologie du pied évoluant énormément les premières années. Chacune de ces bases fera l'objet d'un dessin sur forme et d'un patronage. Lorsque le premier échantillon est assemblé, plusieurs essayages sont réalisés pour contrôler la forme du modèle et la justesse de son chaussant. On parle de "Mise au point". Le patronnier apportera les modifications éventuelles au patron de base.
Le patronage
Vers la piqûre et le montage

Vers la piqûre et le montage

Pour résumer ces diverses étapes : l'idée est matérialisée en forme, sur laquelle le patronnier dessine la tige. De ce dessin est réalisé un patron à partir duquel sont découpées l'ensemble des pièces de la tige. En parallèle, la première de propreté est également préparée. En y ajoutant les autres éléments qui peuvent composer le modèle, comme le contrefort et l'embout (pièces rigides qui sont disposées respectivement au niveau du talon et à l'avant de la chaussure entre la doublure et le cuir) ou les éléments de fermeture (zip, boucle, œillets...), le modèle est prêt pour la piqûre et le montage.

Tous les éléments distincts qui composent la chaussure sont préparés, il reste désormais à les assembler les uns aux autres. La tige est la première partie à être construite. Une dernière étape de préparation est alors nécessaire pour les pièces de cuir qui doivent accueillir une bride ou un laçage particulier.

La piqûre

Les morceaux de cuir, extérieurs et doublures, qui composent la tige sont assemblés dans l'atelier de piqûre. La piqûre exige une grande dextérité et beaucoup de précision dans chaque geste du piqueur pour garantir un résultat de qualité. La tige est ensuite positionnée sur une forme plastique, prête pour le montage.

La piqûre
Le montage

Le montage

Le montage consiste à assembler la tige et la première de montage. Il existe différents types de montage, chacun ayant ses caractéristiques particulières en fonction de la façon dont la tige et la première sont assemblées.

Entre parenthèses

De la piqûre au montage s'enchaîne une multitude d'opérations que nous n'avons pas mentionnées. Pourtant chacune d'elles a une place requise au sein du processus de fabrication. Pour exemple, une fois la tige et la doublure assemblées, l'ensemble des tranches est teint à la main, au pinceau, à l'aide d'un mélange de colorants naturels semblable à la couleur du cuir. Cette attention méticuleuse portée aux détails participe pleinement à la qualité d'un produit.

La construction

La dernière étape de fabrication consiste à assembler la semelle d'usure, ou semelle de marche, à l'ensemble tige-première qui vient d'être formé. Dans le cas d'un montage traditionnel, la semelle d'usure est fixée à la tige par un procédé de collage. On parle de construction soudée. Celle-ci nécessite beaucoup de rigueur et de préparation en amont de façon à permettre une parfaite liaison semelle-tige. Le cardage par exemple est une opération qui consiste à poncer légèrement le dessous de la première avant le passage au four pour favoriser l'adhérence de la colle.

La première de montage est maintenue sur la forme par des bandes adhésives. La tige vient alors épouser la forme et recouvrir cette première de montage. L’ensemble est ensuite encollé à chaud. Une fois refroidi, cet assemblage est soit verré, soit cardé en fonction du besoin. Une action de remplissage par du cuir ou du liège vient compléter cette opération afin de rendre homogène l’ensemble. Ensuite, la semelle et la première sont encollées puis mises au repos afin de libérer les solvants. Enfin, ces deux éléments sont assemblés et la colle réactivée puis pressé à chaud
La construction
Le finissage

Le finissage

La paire est ensuite nettoyée et bichonnée à la main en fonction de l'aspect final que l'on veut donner au cuir. L'ensemble de ces différentes opérations de traitement est appelé finissage ou finition.

La mise en boîte

La finition faite, la paire de chaussures est contrôlée minutieusement pour vérifier qu'elle ne comporte aucun défaut de fabrication. Puis, elle est soigneusement enveloppée dans un papier de soie et mise en boîte. Scellant ainsi les plus de 200 étapes qui auront été nécessaires à sa fabrication.
La mise en boîte